BeatrixKiddo

How do I get better at "ad lib" drumming (or whatever you call it)?

Hi all!

I've been drumming for about two and a half years and am doing pretty well - I'm not a prodigy or anything but it's going well. I enjoy learning songs and playing along to those and have built up a pretty substantial repertoire of those. However I find myself really wishing that I could be better at playing along with songs I don't know and don't have sheet music for. I've jammed with a friend of mine a couple times and I did okay, but I kept it pretty safe...was scared to try too many fills..and the fills I do know aren't exactly impressive. Does anybody have any tips or stories or ideas about progressing as a drummer in this aspect? I would love to be in a band someday but I just don't think I have good enough skills to come up with cool/interesting accompaniment on the fly.

Thanks! :)

Kristen

• Like 1

My advice wold be to relax and enjoy yourself.

if you think about it too much it won't sound natural and if you do make mistakes, don't worry because not everyone will notice.

:D

SBD

• Like 2

For your first band, you need to be a good timekeeper first and foremost. When you start practicing with a band you will play those tunes so many times that the "innovation" will just happen. Once in a band do some crap recordings of yourselves, nothing fancy, just good enough that you can play along with it during your private practice time. Then experiment!